About Us
The National Union of Mineworkers was founded in 1982.

Its birth was facilitated by comrades Cyril Ramaphosa who rose to be its first General Secretary, James Motlatsi who turned to be its first President, and Elijah Barayi who became its Vice President and later the President of Cosatu in 1985 when the federation was formed. porn

NUM logo


Members first

Members First

 Phone: +27 (0) 11 377 2198/9
 Email: tphoko@num.org.za
 Website: www.num.org.za

 Phone: +27 (0) 830 123 543
 Email: info@num.org.za
 Website: www.num.org.za

Subscribe to our News

NUM News

NUM congratulates newly elected SACP Western Cape leadership

posted on
NUM congratulates newly elected SACP Western Cape leadership

NUM Press Statement,  15 May  2017


The National Union of Mineworkers (NUM) congratulates, comrade Benson Ngqentsu for being elected as Provincial Secretary at the 8th SACP Western Cape Provincial congress over the weekend. Comrade Ngqentsu is a union official attached to the NUM Western Cape Region 


His election proves the confidence SACP has in his leadership capacity and we as NUM are more than convinced that he will tackle his new responsibility with great vigour. We wish him well in his new duty to serve the working class and the poor in the province. 


Comrade Ngqentsu will contribute greatly in undertaking the process to build working class power and to alleviate the plight of the working class and the poor and fight the system of capitalist oppression.


The NUM will continue to work with the new leadership of the SACP towards making sure we advance the agenda of the workers and the poor working class in the Western Cape Province.


The SACP delegates of the Western Cape Province elected the following six officials and additional PEC members led by the provincial secretary, Comrade Benson Ngqentsu:

 1. Provincial Secretary- Benson Ngqentsu 2. Provincial Chairperson - Anthony Dietrich 3. Provincial Treasurer- Ernest Theron 4.1st Deputy Secretary- Barry Mitchel 5. 2nd Deputy Secretary- Sonwabile Ngxiza 6. Deputy Chairperson  - Nokulunga Sofoyiya.


For more information, please contact:

Livhuwani Mammburu: NUM National Spokesperson, 083 809 3257



7 Rissik Street.

Cnr Frederick,

Johannesburg  2001

Tel: 011 377 2111


Web: www.num.org.za  

Twitter: @Num Media    

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/NUM/100860023402167 

Categories: | Tags: | Comments: (0) | View Count: (2826) | Return

Post a Comment