Members First

 Phone: +27 (0) 830 123 543

Sunday , October , 01 2023
Subscribe to our News

NUM News

NUM Youth Structure in PWV mourns the passing away of Benjamin Phehla.

posted on
NUM Youth Structure in PWV mourns the passing away of Benjamin Phehla.

NUM Media Statement,  22 October  2016

The National Union of Mineworkers Youth Structure (NUM-YS) in PWV region under Gauteng province mourns the death of former Tshwane University of Technology Student Representative Council member Benjamin Phehla who died after sustaining injuries during protests on Thursday. 

The NUM-YS in PWV is deeply disturbed and saddened by the  passing away  of a young vibrant revolutionary comrade Benjamin Phehla who has been among young activists  fighting for  free and quality education in this country.

"We would like to convey our deepest condolences to his family, comrades and friends during this difficult and trying time.  We urge all students that are left behind to continue with the struggle of free and quality education in honour of comrade Benjamin Phehla. To all other students who are admitted in hospital, we wish them speedy recovery,” said Bonginkosi Mrasi, NUM-YS PWV Regional Secretary.

"We are further disturbed by the presence of the SAPS and private security in all campuses in the country. Violence against students by the police cannot be tolerated. It is wrong and unacceptable. The demands by the students are clear and straight forward. They are fighting for free and quality education, but they find themselves being assaulted, injured, arrested and shot with rubber bullets by the police,” Mrasi added.

We further call on our government to listen to the students demands.

For more information, please contact:


Bonginkosi Mrasi: NUM-YS PWV Regional Secretary:: 078 188 4300

Lego Ramabodu:NUM-YS PWV Regional Chairperson:073 486 1818



7 Rissik Street.

Cnr Frederick,

Johannesburg  2001

Tel: 011 377 2111


Twitter: @Num Media    


Categories: | Tags: | Comments: (0) | View Count: (4920) | Return

Post a Comment

About Us
The National Union of Mineworkers was founded in 1982.

Its birth was facilitated by comrades Cyril Ramaphosa who rose to be its first General Secretary, James Motlatsi who turned to be its first President, and Elijah Barayi who became its Vice President and later the President of Cosatu in 1985 when the federation was formed. porn